SOPA announces finalists for 2022 Journalism Awards

HONG KONG–(BUSINESS WIRE)–The Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA), a Hong Kong-based non-profit organization dedicated to striving for excellence in journalism, today announced the finalists for the 2022 SOPA Awards for Editorial Excellence (full list here). International, regional and local media submitted over 750 entries in English and Chinese.

SOPA celebrates the 40th anniversary of its founding in Hong Kong in 1982. The annual awards for great journalism in the Asia-Pacific region have been awarded annually since 1999.

This year’s winners will be announced on June 16 at the virtual SOPA Awards Gala and streamed live on the SOPA Asia YouTube channel from 7 p.m. Hong Kong time. The evening will include Gina Chua, editor of media startup Semafor, whose career spans the South China Morning Post, Wall Street Journal and Reuters, in a fireside chat with Alice Su of The Economist, winner of the first SOPA Young Journalist Award last year. Juliette Saly of Bloomberg TV will host the event.

There are 20 categories, including the new SOPA Awards for Excellence in Audio Reporting and Excellence in Technology Reporting. The Investigative Reporting category has been renamed the “Carlos Tejada Award for Excellence in Investigative Reporting” to honor the life and work of our late member of the SOPA Editorial Board. Carlos, who died suddenly late last year, spent more than a decade in Asia, first for the Wall Street Journal and then for the New York Times, leading coverage of some of the biggest stories in region – many of whom were SOPA Laureates. He joined the committee in 2018.

This year, the Google News Initiative (GNI) for the first time funded award winners from small media outlets, including the Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism.

“The breadth and depth of the entries and the ambitious reporting that underpins them show that the journalistic spirit is alive and well in newsrooms across the region and around the world despite growing restrictions on freedom of speech. hurry. The SOPA Awards have played an important role in honoring these efforts that are critical to ensuring a thriving civil society across Asia,” said Madeleine Lim, Editor-in-Chief of Bloomberg News and Chair of SOPA’s Editorial Board.

The Wall Street Journal, Initium Media and WHYNOT (Radio Free Asia) are finalists for the prestigious SOPA Award for Public Service Journalism for their respective coverage of the origins of the COVID-19 pandemic, press freedom in Hong Kong and the Chinese feminist movement.

“In a sense, the year 2021 for journalism is the year of dangerous reporting. A considerable number of entries from this year focus on the aftermath of the coup in Myanmar, the takeover of Afghanistan by the Taliban, the ongoing ravages of the Covid-19 pandemic in the region and the profound transformation of Hong Kong. The finalists show how journalists overcame dangerous situations to produce fearless and rigorous media coverage,” said Ting Shi , Head of SOPA Judges and Senior Lecturer at HKU Journalism at the University of Hong Kong.

Entries were judged by a panel of industry professionals from leading media organizations and prestigious journalism schools around the world.

2022 award categories

  • Excellence in reporting on women’s issues

  • Excellence in Journalistic Innovation

  • Excellence in Audio Reporting

  • Excellence in Video Reporting

  • Excellence in Human Rights Reporting

  • Excellence in Writing Feature Films

  • Excellence in Technology Reporting

  • Excellence in Magazine Design

  • Excellence in arts and culture reporting

  • Excellence in the explanatory report

  • Excellence in Corporate Reporting

  • Excellence in Infographics

  • Excellence in breaking news reporting

  • Excellence in Opinion Writing

  • Excellence in Environmental Reporting

  • excellence in photography

  • The Scoop Award

  • Carlos Tejada Award for Excellence in Investigative Journalism

  • SOPA Prize for Young Journalists

  • SOPA Award for Public Service Journalism

The Platinum Sponsor of the SOPA 2022 Awards is Google News Initiative; Gold Sponsor is the Judith Neilson Institute for Journalism and Ideas; and the Silver sponsor is WP Engine.

About SOPA

The Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA) is a Hong Kong-based non-profit organization that was founded in 1982 to uphold press freedom, promote excellence in journalism and endorse best practices for all platforms local and regional publishing companies in the Asia-Pacific region.

Today, SOPA is the voice of the Asian media and publishing industry, and continues to work to uphold media standards and freedoms while celebrating and supporting professional journalism and publishing. The SOPA Awards for Editorial Excellence are the annual flagship awards, serving as a regional benchmark for quality professional journalism.;; LinkedIn

Comments are closed.