Arab Journalism Prize winners honored

Dubai: Under the high patronage of the Vice-President and Prime Minister of the United Arab Emirates and Ruler of Dubai Shaikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, and in the presence of the President of the Dubai Media Council Shaikh Ahmed bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, laureates of the 20th edition of the Arab Journalism Award (AJA) were honored yesterday at a ceremony held at the Al Wasl Plaza of Expo 2020 Dubai.

The ceremony was hosted by the Dubai Press Club and brought together DPC President and Secretary General of Arab Journalism Award Mona Al Marri, Arab Journalism Award Board Chair Diaa Rashwan, local media editors and Arabs. as well as prominent Arab journalists.

The Arab Journalism Award celebrates excellence in print and online journalism in 13 different categories.

The winners of the Arab Journalism Award came from dailies, magazines, online web portals and media organizations across the Arab world.

Sheikh Ahmed bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum honored Emad El Din Adib, a distinguished media personality, with the Media Personality of the Year award for his contributions to journalism in Egypt and the Arab media landscape.

Shaikh Ahmed also honored author and journalist Dr Abdelilah Belkeziz with the Best Column Award for his numerous published articles and editorials in major Arab and regional newspapers. Belkeziz’s works include more than 50 books covering several genres, including philosophy, humanity and Islamic studies, in addition to several literary works.

The chairman of the Dubai Media Council also awarded the online newspaper Sabq the Smart Journalism Award for the use of advanced technology in the promotion of content.

DPC Director Maitha Buhumaid congratulated the winners in all 13 categories and said the advice of Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum and the board of the award has been instrumental in its success over the past 20 years.

Buhumaid highlighted the role of the award in stimulating creativity in the region and improving the quality of journalism and media in the Arab world.

Other winners of the Arab Journalism Award include:

Best Cartoonist Award: Nawaf AlMulla, Al Bilad newspaper, Bahrain.

Political journalism award: Camille Tawil, Asharq Al-Awsat newspaper, United Kingdom.

Investigative Reporting Award: Al Bayan newspaper, United Arab Emirates.

Cultural Journalism Prize: Azmy Abdelwahab, Al Ahram Magazine, Egypt.

Humanitarian Journalism Award: Hoda Zakaria, Youm 7 newspaper, Egypt.

Economic Journalism Award: Kifaya Ollier, Independent Arabia newspaper, United Kingdom.

Price of the press interview: Hamad Alduraihim, Al Jazirah newspaper, Saudi Arabia.

Sports Journalism Award: Atef Abdelwahed, Al Ahram Sport, Egypt.

Photojournalism Award: Mohammed Muhaisen, Palestinian News Agency (SAFA), Palestine.

Young Journalist Award: Shehab Tarek, Literary Magazine Akhbar Al-Adab, Egypt; Abdullah Ewies, Masrawy news web portal, Egypt; and Zyad Alfaifi, from Independent Arabia, KSA.

Comments are closed.