The Gerald Loeb Awards are the most prestigious distinction in business journalism in United States. They were created in 1957 by the late Gerald Loeb, founding partner of EF Hutton. Loeb deeply appreciated the important role journalists play in society and created the awards to encourage and support business and financial reporting that will inform and protect both the private investor and the public.

Deadline and Eligibility

All entries must be submitted online at loeb.awardsplatform.com not later than Thursday, March 31, 2022at 11:59:59 p.m. Pacific Time. Consideration is limited to entries that have been published or broadcast in United States during the 2021 calendar year.

The competition group categories accept submissions with material in all journalistic forms (including those produced for mobile distribution) and in any combination of forms: broadcast (video, audio and podcasts), digital/online , print, photography, graphics, interactives, data visualization, blogs, news apps and social media.

For the 2022 contest, there are two changes to the rules and instructions for submissions:

  1. The option to provide items in PDF format has been removed and items will only be accepted as URLs in the online entry form.
  2. Submissions that are part of a project/series that spans calendar years and contains qualifying material (published in 2021) may be accompanied by additional published material, in limited quantity, provided it is integrated into the context.

New registration and judging platform

This year the #LoebAwards will also enable a new and improved online registration experience, powered by the more secure and WCAG-compliant Award Force platform. The system will allow depositors to create and access their accounts faster through third-party authentication, offer an improved flow to complete entries faster, and offer social sharing integration. The platform will also streamline judging rounds with better judging options and more communication and tracking tools for Loeb Awards administrators.

12 journalism competition categories open for submissions

  • AUDIO – Exemplary audio journalism on any platform that reveals or illuminates a significant business, financial or economic issue.
  • BEAT REPORTING – Exemplary coverage of a commercial, financial or economic rhythm.
  • BREAKING NEWS – Exemplary coverage of competitive business, financial or economic news within seven days of an event, with particular attention to the first 24 hours.
  • COMMENTARY – In-depth and insightful editorials, columns, syndicated columns, blogs, live or video commentary or analysis on business, finance or economics.
  • EXPLANATION – Exemplary in-depth analysis and clear presentation of a complex commercial, financial or economic subject.
  • FEATURE – Pieces in any medium that explain or illuminate business topics with exemplary craftsmanship and style.
  • INTERNATIONAL – International business, financial or economic stories; must be in English and published in the United States
  • INVESTIGATION – A business, financial or economic story or group of up to five (5) stories in any medium or in a combination of mediums. Factors judges will consider include: originality; creativity and perseverance in gathering information; storytelling power; and impact.
  • LOCAL – Excellent coverage of a business, financial or economic story centered on a particular geographic area and delivered primarily to consumers in that area. Articles would come from a local newspaper, magazine, TV, radio station or website.
  • PERSONAL FINANCE AND CONSUMER REPORTS – Excellent business, financial or economic journalism that informs and protects the individual investor and consumer. Includes personal finance, as well as other topics related to informing and enlightening individuals so that they can improve their situation. Eligible entrants include journalists and experts who are determined not to have any conflicts of interest or personal agendas related to the material submitted.
  • VIDEO – Exemplary coverage, narration and presentation on video (delivered in any format, including mobile, streaming and social) of a business, financial or economic story.
  • VISUAL STORYTELLING – Exemplary use of images, graphics and interactives (still photography, video, charts, data visualizations, charts, illustrations, news apps) to tell stories. These visual and data elements should be essential to the story in order to explain, enlighten or educate the reader/viewer/user on contemporary business, financial or economic topics. Images, graphics or interactive elements, and any accompanying text, voice or sound, may appear in any medium. Judges will place great importance on the quality of user experience on mobile devices, as well as entries grouped around a common theme.

Two career awards open to nominations

  • LIFETIME HARVEST AWARD – Recognizes an individual’s outstanding professional contributions in the field of business, financial and economic news.
  • LAWRENCE MINARD EDITORIAL AWARD – Recognizes an individual’s professional contributions in writing business journalism.

Updated submission guidelines and detailed descriptions of the Journalism Competition and Professional Achievement Categories for the 2022 competition are available online at anderson.ucla.edu/gerald-loeb-awards.

UCLA Anderson has been the steward of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation since 1973. The Dean of UCLA Anderson chairs the final awards judging committee made up of leading journalists, information officers and scholars. The foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that operates primarily on contest entry fees, banquet ticket sales, sponsorships, and private support.

Follow the Gerald Loeb Awards on Twitter: @LoebAwards. Discover the Gerald Loeb Awards by searching #LoebAwards.

On Gerald Martin Loeb
Gerald Martin Loeb was born in 1899 in San Francisco, California. He began his career in 1921, in the bond department of a securities firm. He moved to New York City in 1924 to help establish EF Hutton and eventually became Vice Chairman of the Board. During Gerald Loeb career, he was a favorite of business and financial journalists for his willingness to be interviewed and has been described as “probably the most quoted man on Wall Street” (Forbes Review 1955). He is also the author of two books on investment strategy, a guest columnist for Forbes Magazine and widely considered a Wall Street icon. In 1957, he created the G. et R. Loeb Foundation (under the direction of the University of Connecticut) to present the Gerald Loeb Awards for Best Business and Financial Journalism. In 1973, Mr. Loeb transferred award management to the UCLA Anderson School of Management under the deanship of Harold Williams.

About UCLA Anderson School of Management
UCLA Anderson School of Management is one of the world’s leading business schools, with faculty members recognized globally for their teaching excellence and research in advancing managerial thought. Situated in Los Angelesgateway to savings Latin America and Asia and a city that personifies innovation across a wide range of activities, UCLA Anderson MBA, Full Employee MBA, Executive MBA, UCLA-NUS Executive MBA, Master of Financial Engineering, Master of Science in Business Analytics, Doctoral and Executive Education programs epitomize the school. Think about the next philosophy. Here, some 1,800 students are trained each year to become global leaders in pursuit of tomorrow’s business models and community solutions.

Follow us

Jonathan Daillak
(310) 825-4478
[email protected]

SOURCE UCLA Anderson School of Management

Comments are closed.